Wading Staffs

Jay

I have recently been researching wading staffs and am particularly interested in Simms models, but I am open to other brands.  I am curious if you use a wading staff regularly and what your thoughts are with your experience using a wading staff?  I have never used one before and I am starting to think maybe it would be a good tool to add to my wading arsenal.  Thanks, Jay

wading staffs can be handy and can save you falls in some places.  i have used several but the one i like the best is a cross-country ski pole i adapted with a cork grip and tether. also i needed to put some silicone in the small end to keep the water out so it does not sink and get heavy.  some of the collapsible staffs do the same. this one floats. i have found this to be an advantage once i got use to it.   timothy

I tried a staff a few years ago and did not like it.  I felt that it presented a danger to me. I think falls are going to happen whether you have a staff or not. I’m legally blind and just make sure I wade cautiously especially in unknown waters.  Once I’m in the water I feel pretty safe just feeling with my feet. I fell hard once with a staff and almost pierced my face and that was before getting in the water. Maybe it’s the water where I wade but I really see no sense in a staff. I just didn’t see the staff being helpful once in the water. I just don’t take chances when getting in and out.

Really appreciate the replies.   This is helpful information.  Sounds like it is one of those tools that fits some fishermen and others not so much so a person just has to try it themselves to see if it is a good fit.