Crankbaits and Colors

Jay

I am fairly new to smallmouth fishing as they were not in the rivers or lakes where I grew up, but since living in northern IL I have been really excited about catching them.   I have been fishing for them for a few years now, but I am still learning effective methods for consistent success.  My initial setup for smallmouth was using tubes and I often resort to tubes now.  However, I really enjoy throwing Rapala countdowns and Rapala DT-4s and DT-6s.  I have had fairly good success throwing DT-4s and DT-6s when I can get the lure to dive into the bottom around rocks and even bounce off the rocks.  I understand that not all river systems this would be ideal as the bottom contains moss, weeds, or too many snags.  This year I plan to introduce my go to large mouth crank bait, the Rapala countdown alongside the DT-4 and DT-6.  

I am curious what crankbaits others have had success with for smallmouths and what colors seem to work well.  I have always had excellent success for largemouths with white countdowns.  I plan to throw white and and some other countdown colors this year including some more nature colors in clearer water conditions.  For DT-4s and DT-6 I have used mainly crawfish colored lures.  I do have a couple white DT-4s that I plan to throw this year for the first time.  I use a typical medium spinning setup with Shimano reels and G-Loomis or ST Croix rods.  Thanks, Jay   

A little history here. Long ago a lot of reports featured Mann's 1/4 oz One Minus, Autumn color.  Then the Lucky Craft Pointer became the rage.  That was replaced by the Swim Jig /swim bait combo.   Come summer buzz baits, preferably $$, will begin to show up along with the $$ Wopper Plopper.  For colors remember Buck sed, "If you have a favorite color use it." 

12 hours ago, Mike G said:

Buck sed, "If you have a favorite color use it."