Fly rod advice

Gregg S

Hey John, Ed, or others;

Are Temple Forks rods a good value and good choice for a novice (not complete beginner)?

Is there a difference between Jim Teeny models and others?

Gregg

Guest rich mc

temple fork makes nice rods, in fact there are many good value rods on the market compared to years ago. i have an 8wt bvk that is fun to cast. echo is another line to look at. rich

I have a few TFO's, personally my favorite rods for the buck, and lifetime warranty that they are good for no questions asked. Not sure of your price range, but the BVK is hard to beat. That rod came in second place in the Yellowstone shootout versus many rods literally double to triple the price. Are their better rods, I'm sure, but not sure what more another rod could do for me that my BVK couldn't. I have it in a 6wt, and I would say its moderately fast, not to stiff. Their seems to be the typical big difference once you get into the 8wt and above, then its no doubt a fast rod. Perfect smallie rod, with enough backbone to tackle Carp if you chose too, or casting big streamers for trout! My first TFO was the professional series which is a little cheaper rod compared to the BVK, but again an awesome rod for the money. That ones a little softer action than the BVK, but also makes a great Bass, Trout rod. I love em, thats my 2 cents! Ryan

Hey John, Ed, or others;

Are Temple Forks rods a good value and good choice for a novice (not complete beginner)?

Is there a difference between Jim Teeny models and others?

Gregg

All good info being given here by the membership. As was mentioned the Professional series is going to be more forgiving and not as "fast" as the BVK. The same can be said for the Mangrove whicb is basically all I used last season, TFO's warranty is superb.

Lefty and Bob both have models in the TFO catalog. Made in Korea I believe.