New to Illinois Flyfishing

Eric Johnson

Hi all! I'm new to ISA and just wanted to post a message to introduce myself. I've been flyfishing for 20 years now, but have little (ok....really no) experience fishing smallies in Illinois. I have fished for smallmouth in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Michigan....just nothing close to Chicago, which is where I live. I recently got married and bought a house, so time to travel to the fertile fishing grounds of my past has evaporated. Can anyone share locations that I can fish for smallies close to Chicago that are wade-able? I'm not looking for any secret spots, just maybe some spots that everyone else in the world knows but me.

Also, if there is anybody out there that is interested in carpooling to save gas on trips, send me a message.

You have so many choices that you won't know which to fish first. The Fox River from Batavia to where it flows into the Illinois, the Dupage River, the Kankakee River, the Kishwauke River. This just names a few of the better ones I fished before retiring to Table Rock Lake, Bull Shoals, Stockton, Taneycomo, Pomme De Tere and Grand. Those rivers are all wadeable in most section and have excellent populations of Smallmouth Bass, Walleye, and in some Musky. You will note that the Bassbuggers also have tying sessions that afford you and opportunity to meet others that share your interests and passion. Welcome to the ISA and to Illinois Smallmouth Fishing. You will be amazed by the catches you will make as it is a grand fishery.

Eric,

Welcome. Gary Hit the nail between the eyes on places to fish. Smallmouth fishing around Chicago is a river thing mostly though there is the Lake, too. Since Chicago is a big place, we have to ask,"Whereabouts in Chicago do you live?" That will make talking about fishing waters and car pooling easier.