Jigs for fishing with spinning rods

colindanenberger

Hello my name is Colin I live in Central IL. I've been tying for about 10 years. And I was wondering if you spin or baitcast fishermen and women , if anyone would like to share some color combos and size of jig head you fish with. I don't tie to much far as jigs go. But again I would like to know what size jig head the size hook people use. Also would like to know where to buy good jig heads since I don't pour my own and don't have proper equipment to do so.  I fish mainly ponds for crappie, bluegill  and largemouth bass  and every now and then creeks for carp and smallmouth bass.  I do also fly fish most of the time.  I do sell my own to people who want them.  I just wanted to know what people whom don't fly fish, what people fish with.  I'll  put pictures on this post for people to see.  Lastly I need advice on how I can be a better tier. Thanks everyone have a great day and night

15734095490284203739720887758064.jpg

Colin, I generally use 1/8 oz. jigs for most of my walleye fishing but occasionally will use a 1/4 oz. if fishing deep or if I or the water is moving faster.  As to Crappie, generally 1/32 oz but might go to 1/8 oz again if fish are deeper and/or suspended at significant depths.  Btw, I like that pink and white for crappie and that white and pearl for everything.  Darn, now my secrets are out there for all to see.   As to where to purchase jig heads, Cabelas were generally of decent quality but my favorites came from Northland  FishingTackle. 

This is a good place to get jigs.  You can custom order with whatever size hook/lead you want.  It's out of springfield IL as well, so rather local.  Most of my hair jigs for smallies are olive/dark olive or baitfish colors.  Can't ever go wrong with white or black as well.  Best to keep them sparse most of the time ;).

https://www.lurepartsonline.com/Lure-Making