Getting skunked on the DuPage!

Ryan Kral

Hello guys. I live about 5 minutes from the West Branch of the Dupage, and that is my go to fishing place when looking for a quick fix. I have been fly fishing on the river for about a year now, different sections, and I seem to have very little luck. I am fairly new to Smallmouth Fishing, but I have tryed all kinds of tactics, in places where I would expect to see fish. I go back and forth between streamers, poppers, leech and crayfish patterns, to using indicators with a double worm, nymphs, but nothing, I tend to hook more carp in the process. I have fished it in all different weather conditions, year round. I dont know what Im missing, but its gotta be something, I know theres fish there. Any suggestions, starting to get frustrating! Thanks, Ryan

My experience is that fishing in our area began cycling down last year & has only gotten worse this year. :( I haven't done any good ffing since early May.Try fishing the sunrise/sundown hrs.If that doesn't work find something else to do with your free time at least for the time being.

Hey Ryan--had a similar set of issues while fishing the Dupe near Hammel Woods for the last few weeks--about 5 outings. My first reaction is, if you can catch carp consistently, carry on by all means. I think they are spectacular game fish and will certainly put up a battle to match even the toughest smallie. I took one on a dry and it spooled me, and broke me off about 100 yds downstream--just awesome power. That being said, how to solve the smallie problem? I don't think it is a lack of fish. I have been fishing the mornings and have seen plenty of large smallmouths cruising the banks and pools. (I also get quite a few "tips" from passing boaters on fish locations.) So why the hard time? Who knows? But this is what I did and it worked for me.