Changing baits

JimR

Hey all, I'm new to river smallie fishing but it only took one outing out on the Kish about 3 months ago to get me completely twitterpated with it. I'm a convert (grew up fishing Wisconsin lakes), and well, theres just no good public lakes around here short of an hour drive. My question is; do you just bite the bullet and retie 12 times a day, and do you think that a swivel destroys the action of lures in the current? I'm use to bringing a few rods with me to the lake and just grabbing one, and that doesn't work when your wading up/down stream a mile. Thanks for your help. Great community.

In my opinion, swivels are bad when smallie fishing. Number one, its can mess up the action of some lures, and other lures not. Number two, it is good to retie that many times. When smallie fishing you are oftrn around a lot of cover, including rocks and trees, and this will put some nicks in the line which will cause the line to break when you got that big one on. So basically I don't want to lose my lure and a fish so I retie every time I change.

Ron Manthe

Duolock snaps. Just the snap not snap swivel. Occasionally I'll have one open when fishing with plastic but other than that I like them. You still need to retie now and again depending how your fishing (bumping the bottom with cranks).

Duolock snaps. Just the snap not snap swivel. Occasionally I'll have one open when fishing with plastic but other than that I like them. You still need to retie now and again depending how your fishing (bumping the bottom with cranks).

I agree. I always have a snap on, even with plastics, even with buzzbaits with the open tie-on spot. Sometimes I even use a super small snap when fly fishing so I can fish from top to bottom.

Hey all, I'm new to river smallie fishing but it only took one outing out on the Kish about 3 months ago to get me completely twitterpated with it.