Pollution

Guest gooch

I'm new to the Alliance and have joined for one reason...I've been catching fish. I grew up in Lombard and have fished the Fox many times as a kid with poor results. I'm convinced the Alliance has had alot to do with the success fisherman have experienced. I'm more optimistic about fishing local waters than ever before. Unfortunately, there continues to be significant neglect from people who leave behind their trash. Because I am optimistic I plan to get more involved with the alliance...anyway...here is a letter I am sending today to the Village of Montgomery...from what I understand...local government is more responsive to citizen concerns:

To the Village Board of Montgomery,

This is a letter in regards to the poor condition of the river banks in, and around the Montgomery Dam which is approximately ¼ mile north of Mill Street. Recently, I’ve went fishing with my 9 year old niece on the Fox River.

I want to express how appalled I am at all the trash and garbage we’ve seen. There were old tampons, booze bottles, beer cans, tangled fishing line, a snake dead from getting tangled in a cast net, bait containers, water bottles, and even a syringe. This is not a place I would want to bring my niece back to.

In addition, on other occasions, I have seen people keeping undersized fish which I have reported.

I write this letter on behalf of myself and every other person who are trying to make the Fox River a better and cleaner place to fish.

I have cleaned up this stretch of river myself, and I know the Illinois Smallmouth Alliance has also…I would like to see the Village of Montgomery do their part in enforcing litter laws and patrolling the area. At the very least, the Village should post litter signs and talk to people who use the river, to be more considerate about picking up their trash while fishing the river.

Thankyou for your time