other equipment and flies

dholschuh

First off I would like to thank everyone who respond to my first post. As you may I have read I'm relatively new to fly fishing. I read from several sources that I need backing and tippets.What kind are size of backing or tippets should I have ? I bought some bass leaders from cabela's a few day ago along with some new line. Besides tying your own flies or buying your flies from a fly shop.Are they any catalogs out there for fly fishing besides cabela's? Are there any ISA members who sell flies? Thanks again fellow buggers and looking forward to your responses.

Dustin

Smallies on the Rock

Do a Google for Rainy's Flies. They have some nice bass flies there. A few of our members sell flies for smallies, myself included. Other companies that sell flies & related items are...

"The Fly Shop" and "Feather Craft" come to mind, but you can also visit a fly shop. There are a few in the Chicago area, and there is a fair amount of fly fishing related gear at Gander Mountain, if you don't live near Chicago.

You can make it as simple or as complicated as you want. I keep it simple. (Suits my brain.) I'm sure you'll get other opinions on this, and I'm no expert, but I don't even use a tippet. I tie a nine foot piece of mono onto my fly line and tie my fly directly to that. The Bassbuggers may kick me out for this, but I even use a tiny snap to make it easier to change flies. The smallie flies I throw are big enough that it works for me. Would a tapered leader and tippet improve my presentation? Probably a little. Do the fish care? Not that I can tell.

P.M. me your address and I'll send you a few Jude Bugs and Clousers to get you started.