Smallmouth Waters

Dan C.

On Friday Isom Beituni posted a list of (6) diiferent rivers / streams for Smallies. because I am a novice River fisherman, if anybody could share access spots for these places it would be great. I'm in the NW Suburbs.

Here is the list:

1. Kankakee River

2. Apple River

4. Dupage River

5. Fox River

6. Il. River

Also, has anybody ever fished the Buffalo Creek? I t goes through Kildeer, Long Grove, Buffalo grove & Wheeling. Any info. would be appreciated.

Thank You,

Dan C.

The Illinois Gazetteer is a must-have for every angler.

It will show creeks that flow under roads not far from where you live (that you had no idea held quality fish).

That little chunk of land belongs to IDOT. I think nothing of pulling to the side of the road and fishing from a bridge, and have done quite well with that, I might add.

Have actually been checked for my license by passing IDNR on two occasions as well.

The Gazetteer, along with the Open Lands maps will keep you busy for a lifetime!

Buffalo Creek, buffalo Grove.

It's a nice little creek that empties into the DesPlaines river. I have walked a good portion of its length from where it starts at the reservoir in Arlington Heights to where it ends at the DesPlaines river. Now there are some really good rumors about it having small mouth bass. In six years...never seen one, never caught one. However there are pike in there, carp, lots and lots of bluegills, and lots of suckers. You can park a couple of places and go for a nice walk, one is at Willow Creek Park, one is at the reservoir, both offer easy access. It's not exactly fly rod friendly but I use a little seven foot 2 wt and throw little flies at the fish. I have fished it where it enters the DesPlaines and caught LM bass but no smallmouth bass.