Pike leaders

aloomens

I've got a leader designed for Pike and other toothy critters that has a wire tippet section. What type of knot do I use to tie on a fly? I've never used this type of leader before. Also, how do you change to a different fly? Do you use a knot that you can untie (seems this would eventually weaken the wire), or do you cut off and retie? Do I need to carry wire cutters?

I use a "Figure 8" knot.

Tie the knot with a short lead, make a small "figure 8", close to the lure/tie-point.

Leave a short tag end---drag up snug.

A serrated sizzer action tool will suffice to cut the line.

Retying: cut-off close and retie.

Come back.

There are stranded wire leaders where you use the Haywire knot.

There are tyable materials like Tyger Wire where you use a reduced version of the Uni Knot.

Untying and retying does not sound like a real answer. But it depends.

Come back and tell us what product you are talking about.

It is a Roman Moser, Pike Sinking and Trace leader.

Here is the description from their web site:

"Slow sinking leader for Pike and all fish with sharp teeth - knottable steel-Kevlar-Trace - high breaking strength. Steel-Kevlar-Braid, can be stretched with rubber patch. Pike Fly should be attached with Eight Turn Knot."

They must be referring to a Figure Eight knot.

Come back and tell us what product you are talking about.

It is a Roman Moser, Pike Sinking and Trace leader.

Here is the description from their web site:

"Slow sinking leader for Pike and all fish with sharp teeth - knottable steel-Kevlar-Trace - high breaking strength. Steel-Kevlar-Braid, can be stretched with rubber patch. Pike Fly should be attached with Eight Turn Knot."

They must be referring to a Figure Eight knot.