Need some "bug" help

Jonn Graham

Since it looks like fly fishing will be a big part of my life for a long time, it is time for me to learn how to identify some of the hatches I see occur from time to time on my home river. I have seen, at times, the smallie slurping the bugs, but I have no idea what kind of bug they are. The "not knowing" part is killing me. Can someone direct me to a website that shows good pictures of the bugs that hatch in the Midwest?

I know there are probably many, many great books that I could buy, but my book budget is already spent. A website would be better..............thanks.

Hi John,

There are lots of options but I think, for pictures of adults and larvae, www.troutnut.com is hard to beat. Very beautiful images.

I could also trade a day of intensive aquatic insect training for a day of smallie guiding. :) I'm a bug expert but only a beginning SMB angler.

Best,

Jon H

Guest airbornemike

It dosen't have to be an exact match, just get the size and color close. Theres a ton of info on hatches available, get yourself an aquarium net go down stream scoop the little guys up, stick em in a container and look em up.

Doc are former club president (DRIFT) is an entamologist, along with all the other amatuer ones in DRIFT. Bring you critters buy a meeting, they will know.

Jonn,

Here's a link that gives a quick synopsis of the "big 3;" mayflies, caddis flies, and stoneflies.

http://www.midwestflyfish.com/Entomology.htm