Benefits of being new to the river.

JimR

I'm new to fishing shallow rivers for smallmouth, and it's great. Besides the exciting fishing and beauty of nature, every outing is a new adventure. Essentially all of my local smallie river (the Kishwaukee) is new to me, so every trip out is an adventure. I wade, as my boat runs too deep for the river, and often venture far off from where I start. I feel like I'm fishing these spots for the first time ever, as if no man or women has ever set foot in that water before. I almost never see anyone else around. I rue the day I run out of untouched (by me) Kishwaukee river water. I guess I'll have to move.

You should become a member of the Illinois Smallmouth Alliance so that you can enjoy the Bronzeback Bulletin and meet some of the fine persons that call the Kishwaukee River home. It will be the best money you have ever spent.

Thanks, I'm planning on it. Waiting for my next check. It's funny, I found a bulletin from 4 years ago under my bed that I picked up at a fishing and Camping expo. Inside the cover it named some of the chairman and members involved in the differant districts. The guy in my district was Jude Torre who just so happens to be my dad's boss. How funny, so I decided to check out the website, and here I am. Thanks Jude by the way, you must have been at the expo, the bulletin was yours and you had written a big article in it that caught my eye.