Cold water...how deep?

SmallieJonze

Ok...being a novice I still have lots to learn and no matter how much I read about smallie fishing and no matter how many things I'm told about strategies for seasonal movements I still don't retain it well enough to help me out once I'm out on the water. Guess those "hazy days" are catching up with me. Also, no amount of books, videos, and seminars is going to do any good unless I get out and fish. Ah, but where to fish...that's the question...

So...

During cold water/winter periods I know smallies migrate to deeper water but how deep??? Most of the spots that I can get fish out of during the rest of the year are only a couple feet deep. All the slow spots I know of are pretty shallow, no more than 2 feet deep at best. So should I be looking for 6 foot deep water??? That brings up another thing. ...Most of the deep water I know about has a channel and obviously...current. Can they be found at the bottoms of channels?? I'm going to go dig up my bulletins with the articles about float 'n fly/cold water techniques but I would still like to know what is working for you maniacal cold water guys....because obviously, something works for you.

Thanks

JS

---I know this isn't a stupid question, but still, forgive me if I'm being an inquisitive idiot.