Smallmouth fly patterns? Hatch chart?

Jeff Gunnon

I've lived and fished northern Ill. my whole life, but I'm new to fly fishing. This year I have made a vow to hang up my spinning rod and only use my fly rod.

I have been fly fishing for trout and salmon for a few years and enjoy tying my own flies, but have always used a spinning rod around home.

Does anyone have any good fly patterns for NW Illinois? Hatch chart?

I'm new to this site but would love to have a forum that is close to home.

Thanks in advance. :P

Guest One More Cast
I've lived and fished northern Ill. my whole life, but I'm new to fly fishing. This year I have made a vow to hang up my spinning rod and only use my fly rod.

I have been fly fishing for trout and salmon for a few years and enjoy tying my own flies, but have always used a spinning rod around home.

Does anyone have any good fly patterns for NW Illinois? Hatch chart?

I'm new to this site but would love to have a forum that is close to home.

Thanks in advance. :P

Big, small.

Bright, dark.

A few minnow patters (Clousers, Trow Minnows) a few crayfish patterns a hellgremite pattern and a top water popper or slider, a swimming nymph are all you need to get started.

Speaking of getting started: Come to the casting event on the 21st of April. We'll get you started on the right foot.

Joseph

I'm from Dixon and fish the Rock River, as well as a lot of smaller creeks. I usually fish for smallmouth or striper, or whatevers bitting.

I know the clouser and hellgremite as well as a bunch of dry flies. I dont know what time of the year to use them. I mean its obvious to use the clouser when the minnows are in, but I dont know when the stone flies are hatching or when to use nymphs. Any ideas?

Where and when is the casting event?

Thanks for the reply.

By the way, how did you get One More Cast?

Are you also on the Fly Tying Forum under that name?