Fly ID

dcashion

Hello everyone, I'm new to ISA and like to flyfish (although I am probably a threat to public safety if anyone is about :)). One of my tendencies is to just throw stuff on a hook and then go fish it to see if it works. I did one of these a few days ago and have been catching dozens of small crappie and a few bass on it in Eureka Lake. Can anyone tell me what the real name of it is??? I'm been temporarily calling it a silver bellied leach headed maribou streamer.

Guest rich mc

it appears to be a variation of a simple marabou streamer. i can see how it would be attacked by crappie. i like the silver wrapped on the hook shank, and thicker chenille head to push water and the marabou which gives plenty of movement. rich

There is a variation on the Muddler Minnow that uses a chennille head instead of deer hair. I just can't thing of what it's called. I'll post it when I remember. It looks like a small, maribou version of that. Nice.

There is a variation on the Muddler Minnow that uses a chennille head instead of deer hair. I just can't thing of what it's called. I'll post it when I remember. It looks like a small, maribou version of that. Nice.

That's not even close to a Muddler pattern, even a marabou Muddler.

It looks like a shad dart with a lump of chenille on the front. The marabou is too thin and the dye in the chenille will bleed into it after fishing it a couple of times. The chenille isn't anywhere near large enough to justify even putting it on there - "pushing water???". Take a look at the head on a Muddler, Madonna or Zoo Cougar. Those heads are designed to push water and alot of it.

The fly I was thinking of is called a Thief. It was developed by Dan Gapen, the son of Don Gapen (who developed the original Muddler Minnow).

Here is link to a modern variation of the Thief that's tied on an inverse hook, and uses dumbbell eyes:

http://www.flyfishohio.com/Modern_Thief.htm