Epoxy Advice

Ben Lubchansky

I am just beginning to meddle with epoxy and have no intention of becoming anything other than an itinerant user. Any recommendations on styles, brands etc. that best suit a fly tyers needs? For example the syringe type seems to not respond well to small batch use, sitting, and then using at a later date. Thanks for the input.

I am just beginning to meddle with epoxy and have no intention of becoming anything other than an itinerant user. Any recommendations on styles, brands etc. that best suit a fly tyers needs? For example the syringe type seems to not respond well to small batch use, sitting, and then using at a later date. Thanks for the input.

Ben,

Epoxies are all two part-resin and catalyst. After mixing usually 50-50, cure times vary from fast (5 minutes) to overnight (8-12 Hours). A draw back with some formulations is yellowing over time, which is fine, if you are using it as an adhesive, and not fine if you are using it as a coating. Though it cures slowly, Flex-Coat, a product designed for rod building, is formulated to avoid yellowing. Bob clouser recommends it in his book. For a perfectly smooth finish a drying wheel is also recommended.

That being said, I do not worry about the yellowing. I buy a medium fast curing two part from the hardware store. It comes in a container that looks like two syringes stuck together which makes it easy to dole out. I mix two equal globs on a scrap of aluminum foil. I try to apply a smooth coat with a camel hair brush and skip the drying wheel. Since I am not selling the flies, I am not worried about the dreaded "runs." Laquer thinner or rubbing alcohol cleans up the brush as long as you get to it before it hardens.

What are you using it for anyway?