Sinking Fly Line for Smallies

SKollmann

Having a quality floating fly line for my 6-weight reel, I just received a gift certificate to Bass Pro Shop from my kids in anticipation of Father's Day. Now want to purchase a sinking fly line on an additional reel for the same rod. I understand there are different densities of sinking lines that will cause the line to sink at different speeds. Since I'm still relatively new at this sport, but loving every minute of it so far (including fly tying), would appreciate your input on the correct sinking line for smallmouth bass as I don't plan on purchasing multiple lines. If it makes a difference, I will typically be fishing the Fox, Kish and 3K rivers. Thanks.

Guest rich mc

two suggestions. one, are you able to purchase a second spool for the reel you have. then put the sinking line on it. second, i think you can getaway with just a sink tip line for the fox and kish. kank may require a faster sink rate. i use a sink tip in the summer at shabbona when fish are10-15ft down . rich

I agree with Rich about the sink tips. RIO makes sinking leaders in different densities and sink rates. I personally like to use the fastest sink rate. If the water is to slow for that leader then just a weighted fly should be good enough to get down. I've fished all three of the rivers you mentioned especially the Kank. In all this time I have never used a sinking line or leader while fishing it and have usually been pretty successful. On the other hand I do know someone that likes to use a sinking line on the Kank and does well with that style of fishing.

Rich is right. And besides, a full sinker is a real chore to cast. Let me confuse you some more. Did you ever think of getting separate sink tips that you can attach to your regular line?