Common Sucker fly

Starting to play around with creating a good representation of a river sucker for muskie fly fishing. I have a buddy who fishes a bunch in WI and buys a few muskie flies from me every year. He is always looking for a good sucker imitation. I started playing around yesterday with looking at pictures on the internet and then seeing what I had in my materials stash. Here is my first creation:

skuu1h.jpg

I know that this fly is relatively small as muskie flies go. It is only 7 inches long. I did not want to waste two hooks (articulated) until I got the exact colors dialed in. Maybe a 7 inch fly would be good for the early spring. The anglers in the know tell me they use smaller flies in the early spring. My buddy likes it, but wants a little red inserted in the fly to mimic the redness of a redhorse sucker. In addition, I am not sold on the material I used for the tail..........it is all I had. I will have to water test it to see how the tail material flows out the back. I used ice fur for the tail as, like I said, it was the only material I had that had the length I needed. Right now with xmas coming, I cannot buy all the materials I want to purchase. May try some Wampa Hair from Lund's fly shop up in WI. I do know the Laser Dub head is exactly what I envisioned before I started. Also, need one size larger eyes.

Comments/critiques?

I guarantee that would move fish, as is or bigger, but I would definitely try and get a little more length. One guys says pink, one says orange, one only fishes purples or red and blacks, who knows?! I personally dont think it matters so much as just getting it in the right spot at the right time. Although, I prefer the brighter flies because I like seeing my fly on the retrieve in those stained waters. Thats a good looking fly though, I'd fish it! Funny thing is, although I've had plenty of chances with a muskie, my only muskie in the boat came on a chart/white 3" clouser while bass fishing in WI!

Rob: