Ice fly thoughts?

mannym

Anyone here tie ice flies? I entered an ice tournament in Iowa on a very clear lake that is sight fished and wanted to get a move on building a plan. I did some searches on google and found a few but not sure if anyone has any experience with ice flies. Bluegill is the target

Thanks

Manny M

Manny, I'm no expert in ice flies but I do know that ice fishermen use fly larvae or maggots for panfish and this fly imitates those. I cut up thin pieces of my latex gloves and use colored markers to make these. It's a simple fly but I have caught bluegill and crappie on them. Interested in seeing what more experts might suggest.

img41b3b503caa45.jpg

Nice pics. I found a fly that is called tequila something or other that is along the same lines of representation.

Rob, Those colorful ones are quite a sight. If Dennis Rodman ice fished, those would be in his Plano box. LOL

I think I have some of the material to make a few of those.I need to hit Bass pro in Bolingbrook for some scud and nymph hooks.

Hopefully I can set aside an hour a few times a week and get to it.

post-1439-128968139427_thumb.jpg

I too would love to get together and try out some of these ice flies. What is the more central location for everyone? I am in LaSalle county near Starved Rock.

Thanks and keep them pictures coming.

Ice flies? Far be it from me as an avid flyfisherman to discourage using flies but when it comes to icefishing you'll be far better off using the real thing for panfish, ie actual weed worms,waxies,spikes than flies that imitate them.Hang 'em from a chartreuse ice jig.The best bait if you can get them is corn borers a very oily larva found in the stalks of sweet(not field) corn.

Those look too real!!!!

Piece of cake getting the flies in the hole. Its the bite detection in 20 mph winds with snow flying that is tricky.