Slow Day Tactics

Terry Dodge

I'm fairly new to fly fishing. I've been chasing the smallmouth with the fly on the Kishwaukee River for four years now.

My question is.......When the bite is slow and your searching for that one fly that will do the trick, how often do you

change flies? How long do you toss a fly before switching to another? If you're not getting any results no matter what,

do you pick one fly and stick with it with the frame of mind that if they're going to hit then they should hit this fly? Or

do you just pack it up and head for home? I don't like to head for home.smile.gif

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I do it this way. I start at the top with a popper or slider. Then I go to a streamer just worked below the surface (Murdich or Bart O Minnow). If those selections don't produce, I go to the bottom with my Mangy Craw. If none of these selections work, I either head for home or switch areas on the river. I usually stick with each fly maybe around 30 minutes or so.

Jonn

Do you ever fish side by side with a spinfisherman (or baitcaster)? More often than not I get outfished, for sure by numbers but I can often come close to matching the number of quality bass we both get.

Seems like plastics are really tough to beat. I'm still very much on the learning curve when it comes to working deeper presentations.

Not about to give up!

I kill fly guys with fast, noisy, presentations. Really ripping stop and go retrieves. They tend to work a bait too slow or gently.

Sometimes fish only bite when annoyed- IE buzzbaits.

Seems like a lot of times the fly guy is waiting too long in the season to fish. IE- low ultra clear water when fish are spookiest. When their presentations need to be relatively close. Spring and winter shorter casts and higher water hide the presence much better. Bass are also less likely to be buried deep in cover.

I also see fly guys spend too much time on areas that are marginal.